Posted: September 25, 2017

Wheatland, MO (September 23, 2017) - Holding the broom high as he climbed atop the cage of his Daum Motorsports No. 5d, Logan Seavey made it a perfect weekend with the POWRi Lucas Oil War Sprints to win the 7th annual Hockett/McMillin Memorial at the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri.

Taking off from the right of the front row, Seavey jumped to the lead at the wave of the green flag. Crowding to the bottom line, the opening laps yielded several cautions with the race finally at pace for slower traffic to come into play.

With a comfortable straightaway advantage as the No. 5d picked through the backmarkers, the race throughout the top-five came to life as the high line of the Lucas Oil Speedway began to clean off; clearing the way for Dustin Morgan.

Up to second with wheel standing bite off the turns, Morgan’s run came to a violent end as R.J. Miller’s front end collapsed, putting him in the path of Morgan as traffic scattered. Hard contact sent Miller flipping without injury, but also included Clinton Boyles and David Stephenson.

Underway for the final nine lap stretch, Seavey was unchallenged for the win as Quinton Benson maneuvered to second from ninth with Mario Clouser making Saturday’s podium. Kansas shoe Andrew Deal was fourth with Missouri’s Riley Kreisel fifth.

Chris Phillips sixth was trailed by Joe B. Miller, who capped off his night as the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger with 12 positions gained. Wyatt Burks, Taylor Walton, and Anthony Nicholson completed the top-ten.

Korey Weyant was crowned the 2017 POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League Champion with a 66 point lead over Wyatt Burks (2), Chris Parkinson (3), Quinton Benson (4), Slater Helt (5), Warren Johnson (6), Vinny Ward (7), Steve Mahannah (8), Clinton Boyles (9), and Katlynn Leer (10)